Convention on the Future of Europe

Convention on the Future of Europe (Photo:

A summit meeting of Heads of State and Government in Brussels/Laeken in December 2001 decided to establish a special Convention to prepare a new treaty to follow the Treaty of Nice.

The Convention was composed of 16 members from the EU Parliament, 32 from the national parliaments, 15 from the national governments, and two from the Commission.

The applicant countries, including Turkey, were represented with 26 members from their national parliaments and 13 from their governments.

The Convention has been led by Giscard d'Estaing as President and the former Italian Prime Minister Guliano Amato and former Belgian Prime Minister Jean-Luc Dehaene as Vice-Presidents. Giscard d'Estaing also chaired the important Convention Praesidium, which set the agenda, drew up conclusions, and established the Convention working groups.

Except for the presidency, every member of the Convention had alternate members who could be in the relevant meeting rooms but could only speak when the full member was absent.

Britain and the Convention

British MEPs in the Convention:

Representative of the British Government in the Convention:

Representatives of the British National Parliament in the Convention:




See also EU Constitution and Lisbon Treaty 

Convention Presidium and Convention working groups

The Convention - on the FutureS of Europe (115 pages)