European Atomic Energy Community, EAEC or Euratom

(Photo: EU Commission)

The EAEC was established together with the common market at the same time as the Treaty of Rome (1957) and entered into force on 1st January 1958.

Euratom was the administrative agency of the European Atomic Energy Community, which was based on the European Atomic Energy Treaty.


The Convention on the Future of Europe proposed attaching the Euratom Treaty to the EU Constitution as a protocol.


See also Energy.