European Economic Community (EEC)

The Treaty of Rome established the European Economic Community (Photo: EU Commission)

Established under the Treaty of Rome in 1958 to create the so-called "common market". Now it belongs to the first pillar of the European Union.

Until 1972, the abbreviation EEC was used. Then it became EC, or European Community, under the 1992 Treaty of Maastricht.


See also European Communities.