UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, President George Bush, President of the Russion Federation Vladimir Putin, Prime Minister of Japan Junichiro Koizumi (Photo: European Commission)
The G8 is a group of the world's richest and most powerful countries. They meet regularly to discuss currency issues and other topics. The countries are the US, Canada, Japan, the UK, Germany, France, Italy and now also Russia.


The EU Commission President and the EU Presidency also take part in the meetings. Under the Treaty of Nice, EU positions in the G8 on issues relevant to economic and monetary union are decided by a qualified majority.