Calendar of EU presidencies

Belgian EU Presidency flag at Genval, September 2001 (Photo: Lisbeth Kirk)

EU presidencies change twice a year.
2003: Greece and Italy
2004: Ireland and the Netherlands
2005: Luxembourg and United Kingdom
2006: Austria and Finland
2007: Germany and Portugal


The EU Constitution proposes establishing a post of permanent president of the European Council, a so-called "European Council President". Further more, the present rotation system will be changed to a system of team presidencies composed of three countries. But each Member State will still preside over most councils for 6 months.


Homepage of the Irish Presidency: