From Stockholm to Crete and from Lisbon to Warsaw, 29 agencies provide service, information and know-how to the people of the European Union and beyond. The agencies work within many different fields such as environment, food safety, transportation, trade marks, education, or fundamental rights. (Photo:
The EU can establish different agencies to deal with specific topics. The following agencies are now run by the EU:

- CdT: Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union – Luxembourg:

- CEDEFOP: European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training – Thessaloniki (Greece):

- CPVO Community Plant Variety Office – Angers (France):

- EAR European Agency for Reconstruction – Thessaloniki (Greece):

- EASA – European Aviation Safety Agency (operational by September 2003)

- EEA: European Environment Agency – Copenhagen (Denmark):

- EFSA – European Food Safety Authority – Temporary seat in Brussels (Belgium):

- EMCDA: European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction- Lisbon (Portugal):

- EMEA: European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products – London (UK):

- EMSA – European Maritime Safety Agency

- ETF: European Training Foundation- Turin (Italy):

- EUMC – European Monitoring Centre on racism and Xenophobia – Vienna (Austria): and

- EUROFOUND – European Foundation for the Improvement of the Living and Working Conditions – Dublin (Ireland):

- OHIM: Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (Marks and Designs) – Alicante (Spain):

- OSHA - European Agency for Safety and Health at work- Bilbao (Spain):

For an overall introduction to agencies: