Applicant countries

Group photo: Accession Treaty, Athens, April 2003 (Photo: European Commission)

Countries that have applied to join the European Union.

On 1 May 2004, the EU was enlarged w Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia. From April 2003 these 10 former accession countries were observeith the following 10 countries: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta,rs, and hence participated, but could not vote, in the meetings of the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament. 

Romania and Bulgaria entered 1 January 2007. Croatia 1 July 2013.

Turkey was provided with pre-accession money from 1 January 2004. 

Macedonia (FYROM) applied in March 2004 and was approved as candidate country in 2005. Serbia was approved as a candidate country by 2005, Albania in June 2014.

Iceland applied in 2009 but withdraw again. 

See Art. 49 TEU. 


See also Enlargement.