Poul Nielson, Member of the EC in charge of Development and Humanitarian aid, receives Jonathan Motzfeldt, Prime Minister of Greenland (Photo: European Commission)

Greenland has a population of 56,000 and has an area of 2,157,529 km2. It is a Danish territory.

Since 1985 it has had an OCT agreement with the EU, having left the EU after a referendum in 1982. The withdrawal from the EU was approved unanimously among the Member States. Greenland has free access for all exports to the EU market, and vice versa. There is also a financial protocol which fixes a yearly amount that is paid in return for EU fishing rights.

In the agreement for 2003, the finance provided by Greenland has been divided into two portions: one being the payment for fishing rights and the other a structural contribution.