Vaira Vike-Freiberga, President and Einars Repse, Prime Minister of Latvia signing the Accession Treaty (Photo: European Commission)

Has a population of 2.4 million and an area of 64,589 km2

Became an EU Member State on 1st May 2004. Has had a Europe agreement since 1995 and entered into Accession Partnership in 1998.

Has four out of 321 votes in the Council and nine out of 732 seats in the EU Parliament.