Single currency

(Photo: EU Commission)
The EU has not only a common, but a single currency. This means that the Euro has replaced the former national currencies in the so-called Euroland. Circulation of national currencies is forbidden.


The European Central Bank in Frankfurt, Germany, is responsible for the single currency.


See also Common currency, Euroland, Economic and Monetary Union and Optimum currency area.